British Columbia · Trade
Automotive Service Technician
TradeApprenticeship profileAutomotiveIn demand on the source catalog
This record is a trade profile.
Automotive service technicians diagnose, maintain and repair cars and light trucks across major vehicle systems.
These facts were checked for British Columbia on 28 September 2026. They do not by themselves apply in another province or territory. SkilledTradesBC, Trades Training BC, and TradeUpBC do not endorse TradesAtlas.
- Source
- SkilledTradesBC profile
- Last checked
- 28 September 2026
Work
- Inspect and test vehicles
- Repair mechanical and electrical faults
- Perform scheduled maintenance
Skills
- Analytical
- Coordinated
- Resourceful
- Systematic
Training facts on the source profile
| Technical training | 28 weeks |
|---|---|
| Stated program span | 4 years |
| Work-based hours | 6,360 |
| Red Seal | Yes |
| B.C. compulsory status | Not stated This is not a finding that certification is optional. |
| Catalog status | Apprenticeship profile |
Check the official program profile and approved training provider search before applying; schedules and admission vary.
Where to study in B.C.
A program link or a provider designation is not an open seat, a campus assignment, a price, or an intake date. Ask the school or use the live seat finder.
Verified public program pages
- Automotive Service Technician Checked 28 September 2026
Public institutions named on those program pages
Automotive Service Technician
- British Columbia Institute of Technology — Apprenticeship, Foundation. Campus not stated. Checked 28 September 2026.
- Camosun College — Apprenticeship, Foundation. Campus not stated. Checked 28 September 2026.
- Coast Mountain College — Apprenticeship, Foundation. Campus not stated. Checked 28 September 2026.
- College of New Caledonia — Apprenticeship, Foundation. Campus not stated. Checked 28 September 2026.
- College of the Rockies — Apprenticeship, Foundation. Campus not stated. Checked 28 September 2026.
- Kwantlen Polytechnic University — Apprenticeship, Foundation. Campus not stated. Checked 28 September 2026.
- North Island College — Apprenticeship, Foundation. Campus not stated. Checked 28 September 2026.
- Northern Lights College — Apprenticeship, Youth. Campus not stated. Checked 28 September 2026.
- Okanagan College — Apprenticeship, Foundation. Campus not stated. Checked 28 September 2026.
- Thompson Rivers University — Apprenticeship, Foundation. Campus not stated. Checked 28 September 2026.
- University of the Fraser Valley — Apprenticeship, Foundation. Campus not stated. Checked 28 September 2026.
- Vancouver Community College — Apprenticeship, Foundation, Youth. Campus not stated. Checked 28 September 2026.
- Vancouver Island University — Apprenticeship, Foundation. Campus not stated. Checked 28 September 2026.
Trades Training BC seat finder. Live schedules stay on that site and are not copied here.
Reviewed non-public designations
These rows matched this profile by name on the SkilledTradesBC designation table and were not expired on 28 September 2026. A current designation is not an open seat. Expired rows are omitted.
- (SD 43) Centennial Secondary — Level 1, Coquitlam. School district listing; verify eligibility
- (SD 37) Seaquam Secondary — Foundation, Delta. School district listing; verify eligibility
- (SD 75) Riverside College — Foundation, Mission. School district listing; verify eligibility
- Automotive Training Centres — Foundation, Surrey
Source: SkilledTradesBC non-public designations. Last checked 28 September 2026.
Official search tools
- SkilledTradesBC-designated training provider General BC training search; this link does not verify an offering for this specific trade.
- EducationPlannerBC (link only; the catalogue is not copied here) General BC training search; this link does not verify an offering for this specific trade.
Official program documents
Find a business
Training providers above are not service businesses. A directory listing is not a licence.
No published business is listed for this directory category yet.
What this page does not establish
- No provider-to-program offering was verified from this source.