British Columbia · Trade
Hairstylist
TradeApprenticeship profileServicesIn demand on the source catalog
This record is a trade profile.
Hairstylists cut, colour and style hair while advising clients on suitable services and care.
These facts were checked for British Columbia on 28 September 2026. They do not by themselves apply in another province or territory. SkilledTradesBC, Trades Training BC, and TradeUpBC do not endorse TradesAtlas.
- Source
- SkilledTradesBC profile
- Last checked
- 28 September 2026
Work
- Assess hair and scalp
- Cut and style hair
- Apply colour treatments
Skills
- Creative
- Expressive
- Precise
- Visual
Training facts on the source profile
| Technical training | 15 weeks |
|---|---|
| Stated program span | 2 years |
| Work-based hours | 3,150 |
| Red Seal | Yes |
| B.C. compulsory status | Not stated This is not a finding that certification is optional. |
| Catalog status | Apprenticeship profile |
Check the official program profile and approved training provider search before applying; schedules and admission vary.
Where to study in B.C.
A program link or a provider designation is not an open seat, a campus assignment, a price, or an intake date. Ask the school or use the live seat finder.
Verified public program pages
- Hairstylist Checked 28 September 2026
Public institutions named on those program pages
Hairstylist
- Coast Mountain College — Foundation. Campus not stated. Checked 28 September 2026.
- College of the Rockies — Foundation. Campus not stated. Checked 28 September 2026.
- Northern Lights College — Foundation. Campus not stated. Checked 28 September 2026.
- Selkirk College — Apprenticeship, Foundation. Campus not stated. Checked 28 September 2026.
- Vancouver Community College — Apprenticeship, Foundation, Youth. Campus not stated. Checked 28 September 2026.
- Vancouver Island University — Apprenticeship, Foundation. Campus not stated. Checked 28 September 2026.
Trades Training BC seat finder. Live schedules stay on that site and are not copied here.
Reviewed non-public designations
These rows matched this profile by name on the SkilledTradesBC designation table and were not expired on 28 September 2026. A current designation is not an open seat. Expired rows are omitted.
- (SD 34) Abbotsford Senior Secondary — Foundation, Abbotsford. School district listing; verify eligibility
- (SD 83) Pleasant Valley Secondary — Foundation, Armstrong. School district listing; verify eligibility
- (SD 41) Alpha Secondary — Foundation, Burnaby. School district listing; verify eligibility
- (SD 73) Norkham Secondary — Foundation, Kamloops. School district listing; verify eligibility
- (SD 23) Mount Boucherie Secondary — Foundation, Kelowna. School district listing; verify eligibility
- MC College — Foundation, Kelowna
- (SD 35) Aldergrove Community School — Foundation, Langley. School district listing; verify eligibility
- (SD 75) Riverside College — Foundation, Mission. School district listing; verify eligibility
- (SD 36) North Surrey Learning Centre — Foundation, Surrey. School district listing; verify eligibility
- Blanche Macdonald Centre — Foundation, Vancouver
- (SD 61) Victoria High School — Foundation, Victoria. School district listing; verify eligibility
Source: SkilledTradesBC non-public designations. Last checked 28 September 2026.
Official search tools
- SkilledTradesBC-designated training provider General BC training search; this link does not verify an offering for this specific trade.
- EducationPlannerBC (link only; the catalogue is not copied here) General BC training search; this link does not verify an offering for this specific trade.
Official program documents
Find a business
Training providers above are not service businesses. A directory listing is not a licence.
No published business is listed for this directory category yet.
What this page does not establish
- No provider-to-program offering was verified from this source.